2016 “Legends of the Outdoors” National Hall of Fame Award Recipients

Founder of the “Legends of the Outdoors” National Hall of Fame, Garry Mason, hosted award recipients and attendees for the 15thAnnual “Legends of the Outdoors” National Hall of Fame’s 2016 Induction and Banquet.  This year’s inductees and guests boarded one of the largest paddlewheel showboats in the country – the General Jackson Showboat/Music City Queen in Nashville, TN on Saturday, August 27th dockside along the Cumberland River.

The 2016 class of inductees included: Colorado Buck – Television Host & Professional Hunter; Lucy Mize – Professional Angler; W.R. Sauey – Co-Founder of Flambeau Outdoors; Terry and Mark Drury – Founders of Drury Outdoors; George Thornton – CEO of the National Wild Turkey Federation; and Fred Bear (post-humously) – known as “The Father of Modern Bowhunting”.



The Davy Crockett Trailblazer Award will now be known as The Ray Scott American Trailblazer Award in recognition of Hall of Fame Member and the Father of Professional Bass Fishing, Ray Scott, and will be presented to and accepted by Mr. Ray Scott himself.

Other award recipients will be Lisa M. SnuggsAmerican Outdoor Sportsman of the Year,Mike HayesTennessee Outdoorsman of the Year, FLW Fishing League WorldwideOutdoor Organization of the Year, and Flambeau OutdoorsOutdoor Manufacturing Excellence Award for both Fishing and Hunting.

The guest speaker this year was Mr. Ray Eye, champion turkey hunter, radio personality and Hall of Fame Member.

Many outdoors celebrities attend this annual event.  Hall of Fame Members like Ray Scott, Charlie Brewer, Jr., Nina Woods, O’Neill Williams, Brenda Valentine, Ray Eye, Cuz Strickland, Terry Denmon, Mike Morgan, Bill Huntley, Paul Alpers, Alex Rutledge, Charlie Ingram, Byron Ferguson, Ralph McDonald, Harold Knight, Darrell Van Vactor, Jimmy Holt, Jerry Martin and Emily Schaeffer are some of those who have attended.

Comments are closed.